• . Organized by PMC
  • . Sponsored by PMC
  • . Organized by PMC Members


PMC Past Events

« Back

Breaking Down Barriers to a Personalized Approach to Medications to Reduce Adverse Drug Events: A Virtual Congressional Briefing

March 29, 2022 | 12:30 - 1:30 p.m. ET



 American Society of Pharmacovigilance; Invitae

Event registration

During this virtual Congressional briefing organized by the American Society for Pharmacovigilance, Invitae, and PMC in cooperation with the offices of Reps. Eric Swalwell (D-CA) and Tom Emmer (R-MN), PMC's Cynthia A. Bens will moderate a discussion about the basics of adverse drug events and pharmacogenomics, the barriers to using this vital information, and solutions to improve medication management in the United States.

Opening Remarks

  • Representatives Eric Swalwell (D-CA) and Tom Emmer (R-MN)


  • Cynthia A. Bens, Senior Vice President of Public Policy, Personalized Medicine Coalition


  • Aniwaa Owusu Obeng, Pharm.D., Faculty Member, The Charles Bronfman Institute for Personalized Medicine, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai; Clinical Pharmacogenomics Coordinator, The Mount Sinai Hospital
  • Julie Holt, R.N., M.S.N., C.E.N.P., Chief Nursing Officer & Vice President, The Christ Hospital Health Network
  • Heidi Rehm, Ph.D., Chief Genomics Officer and Professor of Pathology, Massachusetts General Hospital; Co-director of the Program in Medical and Population Genetics, Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard
  • Philip Empey, Pharm.D., Ph.D., Associate Director for Pharmacogenomics of the Pitt/UPMC Institute of Precision Medicine


  • Kristine Ashcraft, M.A., M.B.A., Medical Affairs Director, Pharmacogenomics, Invitae
  • Benjamin Brown, Executive Director, American Society of Pharmacovigilance
  • Sara Rogers, Pharm.D., B.C.P.S., President, American Society of Pharmacovigilance

This widely attended event complies with all appropriate regulations.

« Back

Join Today

PMC members shape and advance the future of personalized medicine.
Join Today

Download a Member List

Member List (PDF)